Tuesday, August 21, 2007

The Hero's Journey

This is something that I've puzzled over for a while but I think it is becoming clear.

Here are the steps in order:

1. The Ordinary World
2. The Call to Adventure
3. Refusal of the Call
4. Meeting with the Mentor
5. Crossing the First Threshold
6. Tests, Enemies and Allies
7. Approach to the Inmost Cave
8. The Supreme Ordeal
9. Seizing the Sword
10. The Road Back
11. Resurrection
12. Return With the Elixir

Deborah M. Hale's free online workshop "The Lovers' Journey" explains these points in detail, focusing on romance. Truly eye opening!


Ray-Anne said...

Hi Melissa
If you are interested in more detailed info on the theory - this is a free site with plenty to get you started. Failing that - Chris Vogler's book.Enjoy!


Melissa Leavitt said...

Thanks Ray-Anne! I'll check it out :)

Kaye Manro said...

I've always liked the views in The Hero's Journey and Deborah Hale explains it well I think. Thanks for sharing this on your blog. It is helpful. Kaye